Store Locator
LIVRAISON GRATUITE À PARTIR DE 75$Start Shopping
Achetez-en plus et économisez 10% à partir de 50$, 15% à partir de 100$, 20% à partir de 150$     *Exclut les kits ADN myBlueprint.

Soutenir votre foie et ses mécanismes de détoxification avec les nutriments et l’alimentation

Introduction à l’élimination

Le corps humain dispose d’un certain nombre de systèmes et de mécanismes complexes qui doivent fonctionner efficacement pour absorber et utiliser les éléments nutritifs tout en éliminant de façon simultanée les toxines et les déchets. Ce processus est effectué par chaque cellule et chaque tissu de manière continue puisque l’organisme produit de l’énergie à partir des éléments nutritifs, mais est également exposé à des composés nocifs chaque jour. L’importance d’une élimination efficace est primordiale, car les cellules et les enzymes ne peuvent pas fonctionner en présence d’un excès de déchets et d’une accumulation de toxines. Si la quantité de toxines surpasse la capacité de l’organisme à les éliminer, des changements surviennent, favorisant l’apparition de maladies. C’est à ce moment que le processus normal d’élimination n’est plus en mesure de gérer cette surcharge et qu’une détoxification accrue est nécessaire.

Avons-nous besoin de détoxifier?

Plusieurs sceptiques nient les mérites de renforcer la détoxification au-delà des limites physiologiques normales. Dans un monde parfait sans faiblesses génétiques et une exposition minime aux toxines cette approche serait adéquate, mais les données probantes révèlent que nous subissons une surcharge toxique croissante.1,2,3 Nous vivons dans un environnement dans lequel chaque seconde de chaque jour, l’organisme est exposé à des substances, des produits chimiques et des forces qui intoxiquent la capacité normale de fonctionnement au niveau cellulaire. Par exemple, le Centre pour le contrôle et la prévention des maladies a publié des données qui indiquaient que chaque personne sélectionnée avait un certain niveau de polluants organiques persistants dans son organisme.4 Bien qu’il ait été prouvé que chacun de ces produits chimiques est nocif, il est effrayant de penser que l’interaction et l’accumulation de plusieurs produits chimiques n’ont jamais été étudiées et qu’elles ont fort probablement une toxicité amplifiée.1 La figure 1 montre un certain nombre d’expositions toxiques qui nécessitent une détoxification.

Comment peut-on se détoxifier?

Heureusement, l’organisme a plusieurs mécanismes efficaces et qui se superposent pour éliminer les substances toxiques. En fait, plusieurs systèmes travaillent de concert au sein d’un vaste réseau de détoxification. L’organisme élimine les toxines grâce au foie, au tractus digestif, aux reins, aux poumons, à la peau, aux vaisseaux sanguins et au système lymphatique. Bien que tous les mécanismes soient importants, l’un des principaux systèmes d’élimination est le foie.

Lorsqu’il est question de détoxification, le foie est l’organe qui reçoit généralement le plus d’attention. Le foie filtre les hormones, les médicaments, les métaux lourds, les pesticides, les produits chimiques et toutes les autres substances étrangères. Deux phases de détoxification distinctes se produisent dans le foie, la phase un et deux, qui collaborent à l’élimination de tous les composés qui doivent être excrétés. Chaque phase et chaque mécanisme requiert des acides aminés, du glutathion, des oligoéléments et des vitamines B pour fonctionner. Une alimentation malsaine, une carence en éléments nutritifs et une surcharge de toxines chimiques (p. ex le mercure, les polluants organiques persistants, etc.) ont altéré les voies de désintoxication du foie en saturant chaque phase, en appauvrissant les antioxydants et en endommageant les cellules hépatiques. Plusieurs aliments et végétaux courants stimuleront la phase 1 qui prépare à l’élimination des toxines. Cependant, ils réussissent moins bien à stimuler la phase 2 qui est responsable de recueillir la molécule activée par la phase 1 et de l’excréter de façon sécuritaire. Cela engendre un éventuel problème : si nous surstimulons notre mécanisme de phase 1 et que nous oublions la phase 2, nous pouvons en fait causer plus de tort que de bien puisque le foie devient saturé de produits toxiques.

Soutenir le système de détoxification du foie

Alimentation – Une alimentation saine, riche en antioxydants, en vitamines et en minéraux est essentielle pour le maintien des deux phases de détoxification du foie. Certains des aliments les plus bénéfiques sont présentés dans le Tableau 1. Les végétaux crus procurent également une petite quantité de glutathion absorbable (ainsi que ses précurseurs), qui constitue le principal antioxydant jouant un rôle essentiel pour le foie.5

Tableau 1

Groupes alimentairesBienfaitsExemples
Légumes feuillus vert foncéMinéraux et vitamines nécessaires pour la détoxification du foieKale, épinard, bette à carde
Végétaux amersFavorise la sécrétion de la bile et des fluides digestifsFeuilles de pissenlit, chicorée, artichaut
Légumes alliacésLes groupes sélénium et soufre favorisent la détoxification du foieAil et oignons
Grains entiers et viandes nourries au grainLes vitamines B sont nécessaires pour les mécanismes hépatiquesGibiers sauvages, poulet, bœuf, agneau, quinoa, riz brun
Fruits et légumes à haute teneur en vitamine CFavorise la protection antioxydative des cellulesPoivrons rouges, oranges, goyaves
FibresChélatent les gras, le sucre et les toxines dans les intestinsGraine de lin, psyllium, chia, pommes, poires
Légumes crucifèresContiennent des glucosinolates qui favorisent la phase 2 du mécanisme hépatiqueBok choy, chou-fleur, brocoli, chou, choux de Bruxelles, radis
Voici une recette coup de cœur pour soutenir la détoxification du foie :

Frappé pomme et pissenlit pour soutenir le foie

1 tasse d’eau filtrée

Une poignée de feuilles de pissenlit fraîches (on peut les cueillir à l’extérieur en été ou s’en procurer à l’épicerie en saison). Peut être remplacé par du kale en hiver.

1 pomme verte moyenne (coupée en quartiers, y compris la peau, les pépins et le cœur)

1/2 concombre biologique moyen, pelé et coupé grossièrement

1/2 citron biologique frais (zeste et pépins)

Une tranche de gingembre frais pelé de 1/2 pouce.

Une petite pincée de cayenne pour une touche de piquant

Placez tous les ingrédients dans le VitaMix (ou un mélangeur à haute vitesse) et mélangez pendant 30 secondes jusqu’à pulvérisation complète. Versez dans un verre et savourez!

Les vitamines, les minéraux et les acides aminés jouent un rôle important dans la détoxification du foie, en agissant comme les cofacteurs de plusieurs systèmes enzymatiques. Les vitamines B et les donneurs de méthyle comme la vitamine B12 et la méthionine sont une composante clé des deux phases de détoxification du foie. La N-acétyl-L-cystéine (NAC) est un acide aminé qui agit comme un antioxydant et comme un précurseur du glutathion. De nombreuses études ont établi que la NAC augmente considérablement les taux de glutathion et protège le foie contre les dommages toxiques.6 Cela en fait une bonne protéine de lactosérum (une source naturelle de cystéine) et une multivitamine de première importance pour une détoxication optimale.

Les herbes et extraits de plantes

Le chardon-marie est utilisé comme remède traditionnel depuis plus de 2 000 ans. Cette herbe protège le foie contre les toxines et a été utilisé avec succès pour traiter des maladies hépatiques chroniques.7,8 Le chardon-marie est composé d’une classe de composés botaniques appelée flavonoïdes, dont la silymarine et la silybine sont les plus étudiées. Ces composés ont un effet important sur la protection du foie contre les dommages et l’amélioration des processus de détoxification. La silymarine prévient les dommages hépatiques grâce à plusieurs mécanismes : en agissant comme antioxydant, en augmentant la synthèse de glutathion, en prévenant les infections virales et en en améliorant le taux de régénération des tissus hépatiques. Elle contribue également à prévenir l’inflammation et pourrait aussi avoir un effet sur la chélation des métaux, notamment des métaux lourds comme l’arsenic. 7,8

Sulforaphane – Les végétaux crucifères contiennent un groupe de composés naturels appelés glucosinolates qui favorisent la détoxification du foie et les mécanismes d’élimination des hormones. L’un des glucosinolates les plus prometteurs comme agent anticancer, antioxydant et détoxifiant est le sulforaphane.9,10 Il a la capacité unique de stimuler la phase 2 de la détoxification hépatique, qui est l’étape clé de l’élimination des toxines. Les précurseurs du sulforaphane se trouvent en abondance dans le brocoli, le chou-fleur, le chou et le kale, avec une concentration plus importante dans le brocoli et les choux de Bruxelles. Malheureusement, la cuisson partielle détruit les enzymes nécessaires pour produire le sulforaphane de sorte que les légumes crucifères devraient être consommés crus. 10 Les suppléments d’extrait de brocoli sont aussi une solution de rechange pour profiter des bienfaits de cette molécule.

L’acide glucarique se retrouve dans plusieurs fruits et légumes et en concentration plus importante dans les oranges, les pommes, les pamplemousses et les légumes crucifères. Les suppléments oraux de calcium-D-glucarate (un sel d’acide glucarique) se sont avérés inhiber la bêta-glucoronidase, une enzyme produite par les bactéries intestinales et impliquée dans la phase II de la détoxification hépatique.11 Une activité accrue de la bêta-glucoronidase est associée à un plus grand risque de divers cancers, particulièrement les cancers hormonodépendants comme le cancer du sein, de la prostate, et du côlon.11 L’inhibition de l’activité de la bêta-glucoronidase par le calcium-D-glucarate permet à l’organisme d’excréter des toxines et des hormones avant qu’elles ne soient réabsorbées.

Références :

1) Schafer Kristin S., Margaret Reeves, Skip Spitzer, Susan E. Kegley. « Chemical Trespass : Pesticides in Our Bodies and Corporate Accountability. » Pesticide Action Network North America, May

2) Orban JE, JS Stanley, JG Schwemberger, JC Remmers. « Dioxins and dibenzofurans in adipose tissue of the general US population and selected subpopulations. » Am J Public Health1994; vol. 84, no 3, p. 439-45.

3) Singh S, SS Li. « Epigenetic effects of environmental chemicals bisphenol a and phthalates. » Int J Mol Sci. 2012; vol. 13, no 8, p. 10143-53.

4) Patterson et coll. « Levels in the U.S. population of those persistent organic pollutants (2003-2004) included in the Stockholm Convention or in other long range transboundary air pollution agreements. » Environ Sci Technol. 15 février 2009; vol. 43, no 4, p. 1211-8.

5) Jones DP, RJ Coates, EW FLAGG, et coll. (1992) « Glutathione in foods in the health of the National Cancer Institute’s habits and history food frequency questionnaire below. » NutrCancerVol. 17, p. 57-75

6) Rushworth GF, IL Megson. « Existing and potential therapeutic uses for N-acetylcysteine: the need for conversion to intracellular glutathione for antioxidant benefits. » Pharmacol Ther. Fév. 2014; vol. 141, no 2, p. 150-9

7) Saller R, J Melzer, J Reichling, R Brignoli, R Meier. « An updated systematic review of the pharmacology of silymarin. » Forsch Komplement med. Avril 2007; vol. 14, no 2, p. 70-80.

8) Pradhan SC, C Girish. « Hepatoprotective herbal drug, silymarin from experimental pharmacology to clinical medicine. » Indian J Med Res. Nov. 2006; vol. 124, no 5, p. 491-504.

9) Fahey et Talalay. « Antioxidant functions of sulforaphane: a potent inducer of phase II detoxification enzymes. » Food Chem Toxicol 1999; vol. 37, p. 973-97

10) Monographie du glucosinolate de sulforaphane Altern Med Rev 2012; vol. 15, no 4, p. 352-360.

18) Calcium-D-glucarate. Altern Med Rev. Août 2002; vol. 7, no 4, p. 336-9.

Dr. Paul Hrkal

About The Author

Dr. Paul Hrkal is a board-certified Naturopathic doctor with a passion to apply innovative and evidence-based nutritional, biological, and supplemental interventions to address underlying metabolic, endocrine and immunological dysfunctions. He is strong advocate of integrative medical education frequently writing and lecturing to both healthcare practitioners and public audiences. He also is the medical director for Advanced Orthomolecular Research, a leading Canadian natural health product company, and maintains a clinical practice in the Toronto area.

You might also like to read

Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Store Locator
Free shipping over $75 Start Shopping
Buy More and Save: 10% on $50, 15% on $100, 20% on $150     *Excludes MyBlueprint™ DNA kits.

Supporting your Liver and Detox Pathways with Nutrients and Diet

Introduction to Elimination

The human body has a number of intricate systems and pathways that need to function effectively to absorb and utilize nutrients while simultaneously removing toxins and wastes. This process is done by every cell and tissue continuously as the body produces energy from nutrients but is also exposed to harmful compounds daily. The importance of efficient elimination is paramount because cells and enzymes cannot function when there is excess waste and toxin build-up. If the amount of toxins surpasses the ability of the body to remove it changes that promote disease start to occur. This is when normal waste elimination no longer is able to handle the burden and enhanced detoxification is needed.

Do we need to detoxify?

Many skeptics deny the merits of enhancing detoxification beyond the normal physiologic limits. In a perfect world without any genetic weaknesses and minimal toxin exposure, this approach may be adequate but the evidence is showing we are under an increasing toxic burden.1,2,3 We live in an environment when every second of every day the body is exposed to substances, chemicals, and forces that intoxicate the normal ability to function at the cellular level. For example, the Center of Disease Control published data that showed every person sampled had some level of persistent organic pollutants in their body.4 While each of these chemicals have been proven to be harmful the frightening prospect is that the interaction and accumulation of multiple chemicals have never been studied and most likely have amplified toxicity.1 Figure 1 shows a number of toxic exposures that require enhanced detoxification.

How Do We Detoxify?

Fortunately, the body has a number of effective and overlapping pathways to eliminate toxic substances. In fact, there are a number of systems that work together as part of a comprehensive detox network. The body eliminates toxins through the liver, digestive tract, kidneys, lungs, skin, blood vessels, and lymph system. While all the pathways are important, one of the primary elimination systems is the liver.

The liver is the organ that traditionally gets the most attention when it comes to detoxification. The liver filters hormones, drugs, heavy metals, pesticides, chemicals, and all other foreign substances. There are 2 distinct detoxification phases in the liver, phase one and phase two, which work together to eliminate any compounds that need to be excreted. Each phase and pathway require amino acids, glutathione, trace minerals, and B vitamins to function. A poor diet, nutrient deficiency and an overload of chemical toxins (i.e. mercury, persistent organic pollutants, etc.) impaired the liver detox pathways by overwhelming each phase, depleting antioxidants and damaging liver cells. Many common foods and herbs will stimulate phase 1 which prepares a toxin to be removed. However, they often do a poor job at stimulating phase 2, which is responsible for taking the molecule activated by phase 1 and safely excreting it. This creates a potential problem: if we overstimulate our phase 1 pathways and forget about phase 2, we can actually cause more harm than good since the liver becomes overwhelmed with toxic products.

Supporting the liver detoxification system

Diet – A healthy diet, rich in antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals is crucial for maintaining both phases of liver detoxification. Some of the most beneficial foods are highlighted in Table 1. Uncooked vegetables also provide a small amount absorbable of glutathione (and its precursors), which is the master antioxidant that plays a pivotal role in the liver.5

Table 1

Food Groups Benefits Examples
Dark green leafy veggies Minerals and vitamins required for liver detox Kale, spinach, swiss chard
Bitter vegetables Promote the secretion of bile and digestive juices Dandelion greens, chicory, artichoke
Allium vegetables Selenium and sulphur groups support liver detox Garlic and onions
Whole grains and grass-fed meats B-vitamins required by liver pathways Wild game, chicken, beef, lamb, quinoa, brown rice
Fruits and veggies high in vitamin C Support antioxidant protection of cells Red pepper, oranges, guava
Fibre Bind fats, sugar, and toxin in the intestines Flaxseed, psyllium, chia, apples, pears
Cruciferous vegetables Contain glucosinolates that support phase 2 liver pathways Boy choy, cauliflower, broccoli, cabbage, brussel sprouts, radishes

Here is a favourite recipe for liver detoxification support:

Liver Supporting Dandelion Apple Smoothie

1 cup filtered water

Handful fresh dandelion leaves (can collect outside in the summer or from the grocery store when in season). Can be replaced with kale during the winter.

1 medium green apple (cut in quarters, skin, seeds and core)

½ medium organic field cucumber, peeled a very coarsely chopped

½ fresh organic lemon (rind and seeds)

½“ slice of fresh ginger, peeled

tiny pinch of cayenne for an extra kick

Add all ingredients to VitaMix (or high speed blender) and blend for 30 seconds until completely pulverized. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

Vitamins, minerals and amino acids – play a major role in liver detoxification, acting as cofactors for many enzyme systems. B-vitamins and methyl donors such as vitamin B12 and methionine are a key part of both phases of liver detoxification. N-Acetyl-L-Cysteine (NAC) is an amino acid that acts as an antioxidant and is a precursor to glutathione. Numerous studies have show NAC powerfully enhances glutathione levels and protects the liver from toxic damage.6 This makes good a quality whey protein (a natural source of cysteine) and multivitamin formulation of prime importance for optimum detoxification.

Herbs and Botanical extracts

Milk Thistle has been used as a traditional remedy for over 2000 years. This herb protects the liver against toxins and has been used successfully to treat chronic liver diseases.7,8 Milk thistle contains a class of plant compounds called flavonoids of which silymarin and silybin are the best studied. These compounds exert a substantial effect on protecting the liver from damage as well as enhancing detoxification processes. Silymarin prevents damage to the liver through several mechanisms: by acting as an antioxidant, increasing the synthesis of glutathione, preventing viral infection and by increasing the rate of liver tissue regeneration. It also helps prevent inflammation and may also have metal-chelating effects on heavy metals like arsenic. 7,8

Sulforaphane – Cruciferous vegetables contain a group of natural compounds called glucosinolates that support liver detoxification and hormone elimination pathways. One of the most promising glucosinolates with anti-cancer, antioxidant and detoxification activity is sulforaphane.9,10 It has the unique ability to stimulate the phase 2 liver detoxification system which is the key step in toxin elimination. Sulforaphane precursors are abundant in broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, and kale with the highest concentration found in broccoli and broccoli sprouts. Unfortunately, cooking partially destroys enzymes needed to needed to produce sulforaphane so cruciferous vegetables should be consumed raw.10 Supplementing with broccoli extract is also a good alternative way to get the benefit of this molecule.

Glucaric acid is found in many fruits and vegetables with the highest concentrations in oranges, apples, grapefruit, and cruciferous vegetables. Oral supplementation of calcium-D-glucarate (a salt form of glucaric acid) has been shown to inhibit beta-glucuronidase, an enzyme produced by gut bacteria and involved in phase II liver detoxification.11 Elevated beta-glucuronidase activity is associated with an increased risk for various cancers, particularly hormone-dependent cancers such as breast, prostate, and colon cancers.11 Calcium-D-glucarate’s inhibition of beta-glucuronidase activity allows the body to excrete toxins and hormones before they can become reabsorbed.

References

1) Kristin S. Schafer, Margaret Reeves, Skip Spitzer, Susan E. Kegley. Chemical Trespass: Pesticides in Our Bodies and Corporate Accountability. Pesticide Action Network North America, May

2) Orban JE, Stanley JS, Schwemberger JG, Remmers JC. Dioxins and dibenzofurans in adipose tissue of the general US population and selected subpopulations. Am J Public Health1994;84(3):439-45.

3) Singh S, Li SS. Epigenetic effects of environmental chemicals bisphenol a and phthalates. Int J Mol Sci. 2012;13(8):10143-53.

4) Patterson et al. Levels in the U.S. population of those persistent organic pollutants (2003-2004) included in the Stockholm Convention or in other long range transboundary air pollution agreements. Environ Sci Technol. 2009 Feb 15;43(4):1211-8.

5) Jones DP, Coates RJ, FLAGG EW, et al. (1992) Glutathione in foods in the health of the National Cancer Institute’s habits and history food frequency questionnaire below. NutrCancer 17: 57-75

6) Rushworth GF, Megson IL. Existing and potential therapeutic uses for N-acetylcysteine: the need for conversion to intracellular glutathione for antioxidant benefits. Pharmacol Ther. 2014 Feb;141(2):150-9

7) Saller R, Melzer J, Reichling J, Brignoli R, Meier R. An updated systematic review of the pharmacology of silymarin. Forsch Komplement med. 2007 Apr;14(2):70-80.

8) Pradhan SC, Girish C. Hepatoprotective herbal drug, silymarin from experimental pharmacology to clinical medicine. Indian J Med Res. 2006 Nov;124(5):491-504.

9) Fahey and Talalay. Antioxidant functions of sulforaphane: a potent inducer of phase II detoxification enzymes. Food Chem Toxicol 1999;37:973-97

10) Sulforaphane Glucosinolate Monograph. Altern Med Rev 2012;15(4): 352-360.

18) Calcium-D-glucarate. Altern Med Rev. 2002 Aug;7(4):336-9.

Dr. Paul Hrkal

About The Author

Dr. Paul Hrkal is a board-certified Naturopathic doctor with a passion to apply innovative and evidence-based nutritional, biological, and supplemental interventions to address underlying metabolic, endocrine and immunological dysfunctions. He is strong advocate of integrative medical education frequently writing and lecturing to both healthcare practitioners and public audiences. He also is the medical director for Advanced Orthomolecular Research, a leading Canadian natural health product company, and maintains a clinical practice in the Toronto area.

You might also like to read

Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.